Distance Learning Consumer Information

Professional Licensure

Certain Western Piedmont Community College academic programs prepare students to sit for applicable licensure and/or certification examinations in North Carolina. In order to comply with U.S. Department of Education regulations regarding distance education and professional licensure, Western Piedmont Community College is required to make the following disclosure with respect to professional licensure or certification outside the state of North Carolina.

Disclosure

Western Piedmont Community College does not guarantee programs, which meet licensure requirements in North Carolina, will meet the criteria of licensure boards in other states.

Recommended Approach to Licensing Requirements Verification

If you are considering a program at Western Piedmont Community College that leads to licensure and/or certification and you do not live in North Carolina, please contact the prospective program of interest to make sure that it will fulfill the state requirements, in which you plan to practice, before beginning the program. The following list includes contact information for WPCC programs that may lead to licensure and/or certification.

Associate Degree Nursing

Board of Nursing
Karen Pritchard, kpritchard@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3533
Foothills Higher Education Center
2128 South Sterling Street
Morganton, NC 28655

Cosmetology

North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
Blake Dula, bdula@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3539
1231C Burkemont Avenue
Morganton, NC 28655

Cosmetology Instructor

North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
Blake Dula, bdula@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3539
1231C Burkemont Avenue
Morganton, NC 28655

Early Childhood Education

HCDHHS Division of Child Development and Early Education
Kasey Gardner, kgardner@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3133
1001 Burkemont Avenue
Morganton, NC 28655

Esthetics Technology

North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
Blake Dula, bdula@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3539
1231C Burkemont Avenue
Morganton, NC 28655

Horticulture

American Society for Horticulture Science
Brandon Pitman, bpitman@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3554
1001 Burkemont Avenue
Morganton, NC 28655

Human Services

National Organization for Human Services
Robert Angley, rangley@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3137
1001 Burkemont Avenue
Morganton, NC 28655

Medical Assisting*

American Association of Medical Assistants
Rachel Bradshaw, rbradshaw@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3501
1001 Burkemont Avenue
Morganton, NC 28655

Medical Laboratory Technician*

ASCP Board of Certification
Beverly Berry, bberry@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3502
1001 Burkemont Avenue
Morganton, NC 28655

Phlebotomy*^

ASCP Board of Certification
Wendy Houk, whouk@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3532
Foothills Higher Education Center
2128 South Sterling Street
Morganton, NC 28655

Recreational Therapy Assistant

American Therapeutic Recreation Association
Katharine Wright, kwright@wpcc.edu • (828) 448-3536
1001 Burkemont Avenue
Morganton, NC 28655

* National Certification Qualifying Programs
*^ Some states require licensure, others national certification

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email