State Authorization

Distance Learning Information for Out of State Students

Many U.S. states require post-secondary educational institutions to be legally authorized to provide post-secondary educational instruction in their states. Many of these state laws and regulations also apply to online, distance, and correspondence educational instruction offered in that state. As such, Western Piedmont Community College (WPCC) and its online/distance education programs/ courses must be authorized in certain states prior to offering those courses or programs to students residing in those states. Activities include online learning, non-classroom experiences, faculty members who live outside of North Carolina, proctoring, professional licensure and marketing.

WPCC reserves the right to refuse admission to any applicant who is not a resident of North Carolina who seeks to enroll in any distance education course if the applicant resides in a state where the college is not authorized to provide distance education.

Although we strive to connect you with the best information possible, Western Piedmont Community College cannot confirm whether a particular program meets requirements for professional licensure and/or certification outside of the State of North Carolina.

Licensure & Certification Programs

If you are considering a program at WPCC that leads to licensure or certification and you do not live in North Carolina, please contact the individual below that corresponds to your desired program. Documentation for each program is available by clicking/tapping the name of the program which is linked to a PDF file (opens with the free Adobe Reader).

Curriculum Programs

Applied Technologies

Computer Engineering Technology

Greg Buchanan
gbuchanan@wpcc.edu

Coordinator, Computer & Electrical Engineering
828.448.3560

Computer Integrated Machining Technology

Robert Crawford
rcrawford2@wpcc.edu

Coordinator, Computer Integrated Machining Technology
828.448.3563

Cosmetology

Jenna Chapman
jchapman3@wpcc.edu

Coordinator, Cosmetology
828.448.3548

Early Childhood Education

Kasey Gardner
kgardner@wpcc.edu

Coordinator, Early Childhood Education
828.448.3133

Human Services Technology

Robert Angley
rangley@wpcc.edu

Instructor, Human Services
828.448.3137

Mechatronics Engineering Technology

Bryan Harris
bharris@wpcc.edu

Coordinator, Mechatronics and IST
828.448.3568

Health Sciences

Dental Assisting

Tammy Glover
tglover@wpcc.edu

Coordinator, Dental Assisting
828.448.3545

Medical Assisting

Rachel Bradshaw
rbradshaw@wpcc.edu

Department Head, Allied Health & New Media/Director Medical Assisting
828.448.3501

Medical Lab Technology

Beverly Berry
bberry@wpcc.edu

Coordinator, Medical Lab Technology
828.448.3502

Nursing

Karen Pritchard
kpritchard@wpcc.edu

Director, Associate Degree Nursing Program/
828.448.3533

Recreational Therapy Assistant

Katharine Wright
kwright@wpcc.edu

Coordinator, Recreational Therapy Assistant Program
828.448.3536

Innovation & Partnerships

Horticulture

Brandon Pitman
bpitman@wpcc.edu

828.448.3554

Photo by Julia M Cameron from Pexels.