Clubs & Organizations

Here is a list of active campus clubs and the mission. Join one today! Don’t see a club you’re interested in? Start one! Visit Megan Abee, Coordinator of Student Affairs, in Hildebrand Hall 100-C for more information.

 

Medical Assisting

To stimulate an active interest in the field of Medical Assisting by engaging in activities that promote the profession; to develop interpersonal relationship skills by working with others in selected activities; to develop the value of service to others by performing service projects for the College and Community.
Advisor: Vicki Shuping, vshuping@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-3172

Outdoor Club

The Outdoor Club is a community of adventure loving outdoor enthusiasts who enjoy being in nature’s elements. Our goal is to promote and provide opportunities for expeditions such as hiking, biking, camping, canoeing, etc. in the scenic beauty of our own region. It is a great way to meet like-minded people who have an appreciation for being in the great outdoors.
Advisor: Lily Patterson, lpatterson@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-3506

Natural Sciences

To stimulate in young adults an active interest in science; to help increase the efficiency of the Science Department; to enable members of the Science Club to raise money for scholarships and for field trip travel; to recruit new members for the Science Club; to help acquaint students of WPCC with the standards established by the Science Department.
Advisor:  Michael Spath, mspath@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-3522

Students for Christ

A Christian Interdenominational Ministry among college students at WPCC; the work of the organization includes Bible study, Ministry, Fellowship, and Outreach.
Advisor: Betsy Colliander, bcolliander@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-6057

Early Childhood Education Club

The purpose of this organization is to facilitate the professional development of the members through participation in a variety of early childhood activities at the local and state level.
Advisor: Kasey Gardner, kgardner@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-3133

Criminal Justice Club

To stimulate an active interest in Criminal Justice affairs; to help the efficiency of government within the Criminal Justice system; to enable members of the Criminal Justice Club to raise money for scholarships and for field trip travel; to recruit new members for the Criminal Justice Club; to help acquaint students of Western Piedmont Community College with the Criminal Justice standards and to provide for our students and administration a high degree of justice.
Advisors: Steven J. Moulton, smoulton@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-6042; and Sarah Owens Weeks, sowensweeks@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-6047

Paralegal Association

To establish good fellowship between this association, the legal community, and the members of the paralegal profession; to stimulate a high order of ethical and professional conduct; to provide educational programs and opportunities supplemental to regular course work.
Advisor: Brian Mills, bmills@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-6044

 

Astronomy Club

The WPCC Astronomy Club provides opportunities to learn more about astronomy. Club meetings include discussions of issues concerning space exploration and the latest news about recent discoveries. It also provides workshops for using telescopes and conducts public observing sessions. The club encourages interactions between students and amateur astronomers in the general public so that all can share ideas to learn more about astronomy and enhance their enjoyment of the hobby.
Advisor: Andy White, twhite@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-3525

Pioneer Literary Society

The WPCC Pioneer Literary Society is a club open to all students and faculty of Western Piedmont Community College (including Burke Middle College and CCP students). This club explores literature, film, writing, and philosophy. There are no membership dues, and meetings are usually held bi-monthly. Meetings typically include refreshments, reading, conversation, and games. The WPCC Pioneer Literary Society hosts a themed, murder mystery party each year. The purpose of the society is to foster a sense of literary interest and community within the college.
Advisors: Matt Childres, mchildres@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-6137; and Cher Wheeler, bpscwheeler@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-3213

Global Village

To encourage community involvement relating to culture; to learn about diversity awareness through ethnic groups; to be a community focused educational experience devoted to diversity expansion; and to be a multicultural forum for interested WPCC students, staff, faculty, and community.
Advisor: Erin Mendoza, emendoza@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-3109

 

WPCC Growers

To promote recognition of the Horticulture Technology and Sustainable Agriculture programs at Western Piedmont Community College. We seek to develop leadership, character, and citizenship and to encourage cooperation among students in the various curricular areas and promote positive relations between the club and our community.
Advisor: Brandon Pitman, bpitman@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-3554

Sign Language Club

To promote sign language education, interaction between hearing and deaf or hard-of-hearing individuals, and learn more about deaf community issues.
Advisor: Jeffery York, yorkjb@wpcc.edu, (828) 448-6028