Skip to main content

Clubs & Organizations

Following is a list of active campus clubs and the mission.  Join one today!  Don’t see a club you’re interested in?  Start one!  Visit the Coordinator of Student Activities in Hildebrand Hall 133 for more information.

 

B.E.S.T.  (Building Energy Sustainable Technology):

To reduce our carbon footprint and educate the campus as well as the general public about ways to help cut energy costs, green and sustainable technology, and alternative energies. Advisors: Eric Hurley (828) 448-3557ehurley@wpcc.edu; Sherilyn Ritchie (828) 448-3559 sritchie@wpcc.edu

Criminal Justice:

To stimulate in young adults an active interest in Criminal Justice affairs; to help efficiency of government within the Criminal Justice system; to enable members of the Criminal Justice Club to raise money for scholarships and for field trip travel; to recruit new members for the Criminal Justice Club; to help acquaint students of WPCC with the Criminal Justice standards and to provide for our students and administration a high degree of justice.  Advisors: Danny Dixon (828) 448-6047 ddixon@wpcc.edu; Steven Moulton smoulton@wpcc.edu (828) 448-6042

Drama Club:

To create an inclusive community of WPCC students who are interested in gaining additional knowledge, perspective, and appreciation of the Performing Arts; to provide opportunities for learning, growth, service and fun to Club members, to the College, and to the community at large.  Advisor: Deborah Lonon, (828) 448-3519, dlonon@wpcc.edu

Film and Fine Arts:

To broaden and enlighten the knowledge, appreciation, and perspectives of students interested in fine arts and film, as well as offering assistance to the goals of the students who are interested in pursuing careers or independent projects in these fields of study. Advisors: Jonathan Crumpler  (828) 448-3544 jcrumpler@wpcc.edu; Mark Poteat (828) 448-3538mpoteat@wpcc.edu

Global Village:

To encourage community involvement relating to culture; to learn about diversity awareness through ethnic groups; to be a community focused educational experience devoted to diversity expansion; and to be a multicultural forum for interested WPCC students, staff, faculty, and community.  Advisor: Maureen Dougher (828) 448-3109 6029 mdougher@wpcc.edu

Human Services Club:

To provide students with an outlet for further development of skills related to our field; to provide a venue for information and idea sharing, advance the best interests of our chosen field and to serve our community and Western Piedmont Community College in a collective and advantageous manner. Advisor: Charles Moore (828) 448-3136 cmoore@wpcc.edu

Laboratorian:

To stimulate in students an active interest in laboratory techniques and procedures, explore and keep up with new techniques in the medical field, and attend at least one conference of the NCSMT.  Advisor: Nancy Shoaf  (828) 448-3536 nshoaf@wpcc.edu

Medical Assisting:

To stimulate an active interest in the field of Medical Assisting by engaging in activities that promote the profession; to develop interpersonal relationship skills by working with others in selected activities; to develop the value of service to others by performing service projects for the College and Community.  Advisor: Ann Giles (828) 448-3548 agiles@wpcc.edu

Natural Sciences:

To stimulate in young adults an active interest in science; to help increase the efficiency of the Science Department; to enable members of the Science Club to raise money for scholarships and for field trip travel; to recruit new members for the Science Club; to help acquaint students of WPCC with the standards established by the Science Department.  Advisor:  Michael Spath, (828) 448-3522, mspath@wpcc.edu

Paralegal:

To establish good fellowship between this association, the legal community, and the members of the paralegal profession; to stimulate a high order of ethical and professional conduct; to provide educational programs and opportunities supplemental to regular course work. Advisor: Neal Bevans  (828) 448-6044 nbevans@wpcc.edu

North Carolina Association of Nursing Students:

The nursing degree program has a club for each graduating class to help students as they progress during the two year program.  Advisors:  Karen Pritchard (828) 448-3546 kpritchard@wpcc.edu  & Faye Cook (828) 448-3534 fcook@wpcc.edu

Professional Crafts Club:

To enhance the educational experience of students within the Professional Crafts curricula, foster appreciation and understanding of fine craft in the community, prepare students for careers in fine craft, support the mission of the Professional Crafts program.  Advisor: Courtney Long (828) 448-3552 clong@wpcc.edu

Rotaract Club:

To provide an opportunity for students to enhance the knowledge and skills that will assist them in personal development, to address the physical and social needs of their communities, and to promote better relations between all people worldwide through a framework of friendship  and service.  Advisor:  Maureen “Mo” Schwind (828) 448-3181mschwind@wpcc.edu; Sam Vegter, (828) 448-6053, svegter@wpcc.edu

Sign Language Club:

To promote sign language education, interaction between hearing and deaf or hard-of-hearing individuals, and learn more about deaf community issues. Advisor: Danette Steelman-Bridges (828) 448-6028 dsbridges@wpcc.edu

Students for Christ:

A Christian Interdenominational Ministry among college students at WPCC; the work of the organization includes Bible study, Ministry, Fellowship, and Outreach. Advisor: Bill Childers (828) 448-6054 bchilders@wpcc.edu

Therapeutic Recreation:

A Christian Interdenominational Ministry among college students at WPCC; the work of the organization includes Bible study, Ministry, Fellowship, and Outreach. Advisor: Bill Childers (828) 448-6054 bchilders@wpcc.edu

WPCC Growers:

To promote recognition of the Horticulture Technology and Sustainable Agriculture programs at Western Piedmont Community College. We seek to develop leadership, character, and citizenship and to encourage cooperation among students in the various curricular areas and promote positive relations between the club and our community.  Advisor: Chip Hope, (828) 448-3554, chope@wpcc.edu; Meagan Roberts, (828) 448-3562, mroberts@wpcc.edu